Converse Ad

This is the ad I made for Converse shoes.  My main goal for this ad was to create something that really stands out, and I think this goes a great job of doing just that.  I used all bright colors to blast the viewer as soon as they come across the page.  I used picture cutouts to emphasize the slogan of, “break the bubble.”  I think this was a good slogan for this style since Converse is a company that already uses this type of idea in their ads.  This slogan also goes well with the photo shoot goal. I tried to keep both the new logos simple, but also cool looking.  The three tools I used most for this project were the lettering tools, magnetic lasso, and size adjustment.  I used the lettering to create both the logos and the slogans.  And I used both types of lasso to outline the pictures so I could pull them off of their backgrounds.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Your ad definitely gives me a super urban and cool vibe. I love all the pictures you were able to incorporate in your ad. You have hot models.

    Reply

  2. Posted by janaefrazier on March 9, 2010 at 12:21 am

    I adore your creativity ! I love how you used many different pictures at the top! It seems just a little busy, maybe a different font or just two colors would have made it even better ! But other than that, Awesome!

    Reply

  3. I really like the pictures at the top of the ad – they make me feel as if owning converse will make me have a good time hanging out. I also love the small pictures that surround the biggest one. I just wish the stairs weren’t visible.

    Reply

  4. This shows a different side to converse shoes. I like how the original looked so LA and intense gang like. But this looks fun and summery. I can’t read the font, but you can fix it. Great job.

    Reply

  5. Posted by michiyaenglish on March 9, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    I initially thought that this ad had too much going on and that my mind wouldn’t be able to focus in on the product, but after taking it piece by piece I get what you were trying to do. I love the candid photos at the top.

    Reply

  6. I feel like this ad is a little too cluttered. The type is a little confusing but I think if the background behind the girls was all purple it would be easier.

    Reply

  7. I loved the idea you had for this, especially the line of photos on top. Overall, all the colors are distracting and make the text hard to read.

    Reply

  8. This advertisment is so different than anything else that we saw in class. I love that you took risks and kind of went crazy with all sorts of photoshop tools. If I saw this in a magazine I would without a doubt stop and look at it.

    Reply

  9. I didn’t think I’d see an ad more crowded than mine! I don’t like the stares in the back of the main shot, but I do like the font even though some students couldn’t read it.

    Reply

  10. I think this is a really fun ad. I really like the pictures at the top and I like how you used the purple behind the larger picture with the tiny pictures of the model. Nice job, fonts work very well too.

    Reply

  11. I think your advertisement is very dynamic, and l like your slogan. I will say, the font is difficult to read. Next time try to simplify what your creating. Great job!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Sarah Carideo on March 10, 2010 at 3:05 am

    I absolutely love this ad. You really thought outside of the box by creating the purple background and using a photograph as an image. I also like the use of the other photographs at the top – my dad used to work for Converse and they have several ads that did that as well. I would just change the font, because while I understand you wanted it to be urban, it is difficult to read.

    Reply

  13. This ad is crazy and I love it! The top line of photos is such a great idea. I also love all of the cut outs, they really add a cool element to this ad! The only thing I would change is the font – it’s hard to read. But otherwise, great job!

    Reply

  14. This is a perfect example of a converse ad so great job on that. I like the cut outs because they are something that you don’t see everyday. I would just watch out for too much on one shot.

    Reply

  15. Posted by anastasiaromanowicz on March 10, 2010 at 4:56 am

    Nice job! I love all of the colors and the different photos on top of your ad. I can really see this as a converse ad since they always have this urban feel to their ads. I remember seeing it half-finished before I left and was wondering what it was going to look like, and it turned out great!

    Reply

  16. This ad was very creative and I loved that you kept with the urban feel of the photo. I think the font works really well with this style of ad, but it is a little hard to read because of the colors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

