Photo Project

My first photo shoot:

This is my favorite picture from my first ever photo shoot.    This shot really stuck out for me because the subject’s face is giving a perfect reaction to the sunlight. The squint of his eye combined with the grin it makes on his mouth shows alot of personality.  Also the hoodie with the jewels and money make for an interesting contrast with the fuzzy, soft texture of the fur bomber hat. Big arches hold up the back giving an impression of solidarity that goes well with the confident smirk. His eye-line  goes straight into the camera, and he is focused right on the viewer.  I also think the fact that his skin is so dark, yet you can still see all the details of his face makes for a good use of the light.

Using documentary style with manual controls on the camera made for a pretty challenging shoot.  I was lucky to get this shot of my friend Rodney by just popping in front of him and trying to get a picture before he said anything.  This surprise really made for a unique picture.  The challenge of adjusting the camera to fix the light settings was very hard at first, but I think by the time I got to this picture I was really starting to get the hang of it.

The hardest part of this assignment was definitely finding the right balance between f-stop size and all of the other settings on the camera.  There are many pictures where I was simply trying to get this balance correct.  It was very frustrating working in the bright light around 1 O’clock, but I was able to get some of my best pictures, like this one, with the lower light around 3.  This project was a very good learning experience since it helped me to understand how the camera works and how to use it to frame action well.

16 responses to this post.

  1. This picture was one of the most interesting photos that we looked at in class. The colors contrast so well, and the focus is perfect. The shallow depth of field really works well for this shot.

    Reply

  2. Posted by janaefrazier on February 13, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    I love the expression captured in this photograph! I like how he is in focus and how the background is blurry (nice shallow depth of field). The lighting is excellent, and the attire that the subject is wearing makes the picture even more interesting ! Good Job!

    Reply

  3. Posted by anastasiaromanowicz on February 13, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    I think you did a great job with this photo. I like how you focused and that the background is blurred so I am able to see his face and difference in the pattern on his sweatshirt and his hat. Good job!

    Reply

  4. Posted by michiyaenglish on February 14, 2010 at 12:02 am

    I admire the fact that you stuck to one place an waited patiently. It obvious payed off. I loved that Sarah brought out attention the fact that the diamonds and the earbuds draw out attention back to his face. I’m not sure if you planned on that, but it worked.

    Reply

  5. This photo is awesome. The detail you captured in his attire and his facial expression make this picture really interesting to look at. He looks huggable.

    Reply

  6. I love everything about this picture. It is a little too bright, but you wouldn’t have caught his expression without the lighting you were working in.

    Reply

  7. I love this picture because it is a very good example of a moment in reality. I like the contrasting colors as well as the V’s in the picture. I would just watch out for cutting off a little bit of his head but great job!

    Reply

  8. His facial expression is my favorite. I also love his wardrobe and how his white hoodie helps him stand out against the red brick background. The only thing I would change is to get him a little more into the shot so the other strap is visible.

    Reply

  9. This picture is so cool! It is well focused and it has beautiful contrasts in it. I love his facial expression, the lighting, and the shallow depth of field.

    Reply

  10. I love this photo! This is my favorite one because it tells a story and really captures reality. A lot of the people in pictures are posed. Your friend looks posed but is just genuine. I don’t know how to make this any better.

    Reply

  11. This is a really cool picture and the colors are really what make it. From the differences between his skin color, his sweatshirt and the brick makes for a pretty dynamic photo. The only thing I would change is including his entire head in the shot.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Sarah Carideo on February 14, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    This picture is so clear and dynamic – definitely one of my favorites in the class. I love how you captured such a unique moment in a very engaging way. The contrast of the brick with the sweatshirt and the shirt and the hat make this complex and interesting to view.

    Reply

  13. I really like this photo. I like how he is in focus and the background is not. I also like the textures and graphics of his clothes. I can’t really think of anything to change with this picture.

    Reply

  14. This photo is fantastic. Great color scheme. The subject is placed in the frame well and the focus is in all the right places.

    Reply

  15. This was one of my favorites from class. I love the shallow depth of field and how he is not center. I also love the brighter colors against the brick background. Great job!

    Reply

  16. Mark – I really like this photograph! You did a great job capturing the moment of the guy listening to his music, just hanging out. I love the “v” shape you get from his headphone cord and his hood. To improve this picture, try getting the subject in a more interesting background.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

